Constitutional and other Bodies

Election Commission

- The Election Commission is an autonomous, quasi-judiciary constitutional body. Its function is to conduct free and fair elections in India.
- ➤ The Election Commission was established on 25th January, 1950 under **Article 324** of the Constitution.
- > The first Chief Election Commissioner was **Sukumar Sen**.

Planning Commission

- ➤ The Planning Commission was established in March, 1950 by an executive resolution of the Government of India (i.eUnion Cabinet) on the recommendation of the Advisory Planning Board constituted in 1946 under the Chairmanship of KC Neogi.
- > Now, the Planning Commission has been replaced by NITI Aayog.

NITI Aayog

- NITI Aayog or National institution for transforming India Aayog is a policy think-tank of the Union Government of India that replaces the Planning Commission of India and aims to involve the states in economic policy-making in India. It will be providing strategic and technical advice to the central and the State Governments.
- ➤ The Prime Minister of India heads the Aayog as its Chairperson.



De Facto IAS

GS Notes for Judiciary

National Development Council(NDC)

- ➤ The Function of the NDC was to review the working of the national plan. The NDC was formed in 1952, to associate the states in the formulation of the plans.
- > The PM is the ex-officio chairman of NDC.
- > It is an extra-constitutional and extra-legal body.
- > Since the establishment of NITI Aayog, NDC has been proposed to be abolished.

Finance Commission

- ➤ Article 280 of the Constitution of India provides for a Finance Commission as a quasi-judicial body. It is constituted by the President of India every fifth year.
- It consists of Chairman and 4 other members.

Functions: The Finance Commission is required to make recommendations to the President of India in the following matters: The distribution of the net proceeds of taxes to be shared between the centre and the states and the allocation between the states, the respective shares of such proceeds. The 15th Finance Commission was appointed on 2nd January, 2017 under the Chairmanship of **NK Singh**.

De Facto IAS