#### De Facto IAS

# **GS Notes for Judiciary**

#### **Framing of the Indian Constitution**

- The idea to have a Constitution was first given by **MN Roy** (A pioneer of Communist Movement in India).
- ➤ The Constitution was framed by the **Constituent Assembly** of India, set-up on 16th May 1946, in accordance with the Cabinet Mission Plan, under the Chairmanship of Sachchidanand Sinha, initially. **Dr Rajendra Prasad** and HC Mukherjee were elected as the President and Vice-President respectively on 11th December 1946. BN Rau was appointed as the Constitutional Advisor.
- ➤ The total membership of the Constituent Assembly was 389, of these 292 were representatives of British States; 93 were representatives of Princely States and 4 were from the Chief Commissioners Provinces of Delhi, Ajmer-Merwara, Coorg and British Baluchistan.
- The Chairman of the Drafting Committee was Dr BR Ambedkar, also known as the Father of the Indian Constitution.



### **Enactment of the Constitution**

- The Constituent Assembly took **2 years**, **11 months** and **18 days** to complete the Constitution.
- > Some of the provisions related to citizenship, elections, provisional Parliament etc were given immediate effect.

#### **De Facto IAS**

# **GS Notes for Judiciary**

- ➤ The Constitution, adopted on 26th November, 1949, contained a Preamble, 395 Articles divided into 22 Parts and 8 Schedules. Presently, it has 448 Articles divided into 25 Parts and 12 Schedules.
- ➤ The enforcement of the Constitution was delayed till 26th January because, in 1929, on this day Indian National Congress demanded **Poorna Swaraj** in the Lahore Session, Chaired by JL Nehru.
- ➤ The Constitution came into force on 26th January, 1950, known as Republic Day of India. The Constituent Assembly adopted our National Flag on 22nd July, 1947. It was designed by **Pingali Venkayya**.

## **Interim Government (1946)**

Members	Portfolios Held
Jawaharlal Nehru	External Affairs & Commonwealth Relations
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel	Home, Information & Broadcasting
Dr Rajendra Prasad	Food & Agriculture
Dr John Matha	Industries & Supplies
Jagjivan Ram	Labour
Sardar Baldev Singh	Defence
CH Bhabha	Works, Mines & Power
Liaquat Ali Khan	Finance
Abdur Rab Nishtar	Posts & Air
Asaf Ali	Railways & Transport
C Rajagopalachari	Education & Arts
II Chundrigar	Commerce
Ghaznafar Ali Khan	Health
Joginder Nath Mandal	Law

Note: Interim government was formed from the newly elected Constituent Assembly